skip to main contentskip to schoolfeedskip to navigationskip to navigation

User avatarnull Account

Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

A seven-member elected board of trustees governs Laurens County School District 55.  The board operates within the framework of state laws and regulations and is responsible to the community it represents and serves.  

Group photo of School Board

The board considers policy development one of its chief functions.  The board provides for the allocation of human, instructional, financial, and other resources to support the district's vision, mission, belief, and goals.  

Trustees are elected at the time of the general election of the appropriate year from each single-member election district.  They are elected by the qualified electors of the districts in which they reside and will take office on December 1.  The regular term of office for each trustee is four years.  Trustees receive no monetary compensation for service on the board.

All school board meetings will be conducted in accordance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act.  The board holds regular monthly meetings in the large training room of the LCSD 55 administrative office on the fourth Monday of each month unless prior notification is issued.  The regularly scheduled time will be at 6:30 p.m.

Executive sessions for legally permissible matters may be scheduled prior to the public session provided the news media and public are provided proper notice of any such executive sessions.  In unusual circumstances, the board may change the date, time, and/or place of any regular meeting, upon a majority vote of the board or by agreement between the superintendent and board chairperson. 

For matters relating to the board, please contact:

Lisa Wilson                 

301 Hillcrest Drive 

Laurens, SC 29360


ADA Compliance Errors0