skip to main content

Our School Board

4 months ago

Photo of Robby Bell

Robby Bell

Seat 7 - Chairman

Post Office Box 517

Laurens, SC   29360


Photo of Anthony Carpenter

Anthony Carpenter

Seat 5 - Vice-Chairman

414 River Street

Laurens, SC   29360



Photo of Cathy Little

Cathy Little

Seat 2 - Secretary 

207 Doublebrook Drive

Laurens, SC   29360


Photo of Barbara Beeks

Barbara Beeks

Seat 3

151 Milam Heights Road

Waterloo, SC   29384



Photo of Mark Earle

Mark Earle

Seat 4

16626 Highway 101 South

Gray Court, SC   29645


Photo of Terri Martin

Terri Martin

Seat 1 

1432 Lakeview Drive

Gray Court, SC   29645



Photo of Susan Ware

Susan Ware

Seat 7 

Post Office Box 545

Laurens, SC   29360


School Board Policy Manual

Board of Trustees

4 months ago

Board of Trustees

A seven-member elected board of trustees governs Laurens County School District 55.  The board operates within the framework of state laws and regulations and is responsible to the community it represents and serves.  

Group photo of School Board

The board considers policy development one of its chief functions.  The board provides for the allocation of human, instructional, financial, and other resources to support the district's vision, mission, belief, and goals.  

Trustees are elected at the time of the general election of the appropriate year from each single-member election district.  They are elected by the qualified electors of the districts in which they reside and will take office on December 1.  The regular term of office for each trustee is four years.  Trustees receive no monetary compensation for service on the board.

For matters relating to the board, please contact:

Lisa Wilson                 

301 Hillcrest Drive 

Laurens, SC 29360



3 months ago


All school board meetings will be conducted in accordance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act.  The board holds its regular meeting of the board in one of the school facilities or the board conference room on the fourth Monday of each month. The regularly scheduled time will be at 6:30 p.m.

Executive sessions for legally permissible matters may be scheduled prior to the public session provided the news media and public are provided proper notice of any such executive sessions.  In unusual circumstances, the board may change the date, time, and/or place of any regular meeting, upon a majority vote of the board or by agreement between the superintendent and board chairperson. 





 Open session of these meetings will begin at 6:30 p.m. unless otherwise noted on the published agenda.  




August 27, 2018

District Office

September 24, 2018

Laurens Elementary School

October 22, 2018

Laurens Middle School

November 26, 2018

Sanders Middle School

December 2018 (Luncheon)

Waterloo Elementary School

January 28, 2019

E.B. Morse Elementary School

February 25, 2019

Ford Elementary School

March 25, 2019

Gray Court-Owings School

April 22, 2019

Hickory Tavern School

May 20, 2019

Laurens District 55 High School

June 24, 2019

District Office

Scenes from the March 25 School Board Meeting

3 months ago

Color Photo of Students portraying The Cat in the Hat

The Cat

Students shared a story from the great Dr. Seuss.

Color Photo of Student as Thing 1

Thing 1

Thing 1 and Thing 2 showed up to help with the fun.

Color Photo of Students Singing


Grade 2 Scholar students and Lower and  Upper Elementary Montessori students blended their voices for the musical presentation. 

SC Junior Scholars are students who scored 550 or higher on the Evidence-Based Reading and Writing or 530 or higher on the Math portion of the PSAT/NMSQT in the 8th grade.  Seventh graders who were identified and recognized as Duke TIP at the State or Grand Recognition are also designated as Junior Scholars. Students who qualified as SC Junior Scholars are E. Cox, M. Barcenas, K. Hagood, M. Corley, M. Harshaw, H. Martin, E. Newton, B. Burrafato, M. Neely, F. Partee, and A. Whitten.

Students were recognized for achieving a perfect score on the End of Course Exam for U.S. History and the Constitution.  Pictured with the board are M. Ward, I. Hunt, A. Fulmer, K. Prince, L. Abell, and E. Barajas.  Not pictured are A. Fulmer and H. Hardy. 

Students were recognized for earning a perfect score on the End of Course Exam for Biology I.  Pictured with the board are A. Taylor, E. Sharp, and A. Maddox.  Not pictured are A. Davis, N. Whitten, and J. Young. 


The 2018-2019 Distinguished Teachers of Literacy were recognized.  They are Pam Rogers, Stephanie Malone, Amber Theus, Missy Turner, Emily Verdin, Brenda Calvo, Savannah Campbell, Nicole Andrews, Nina Mullinas, and Lisa Nelson.

  • Scenes from School Board Meeting - MAY 20, 2019
    Scenes from School Board Meeting - MAY 20, 2019
    LDHS FRC Team 4451: Robotz Garage was recognized for the team's successful year. Their accolades include Rocket City Winner and Chairman's Award, Palmetto Regional Winner, FIRST Championship Robotics World Competition - Final 12 in Turing Division and Top 48 in World. Recognized and pictured with school board trustees and the superintendent: Austin Bercume, John Bettger, Tom Dohrmann, Jackson James, James Ledfore-Tarbox, Willis Long, Douglas Meetze, Timothy Roper, Ethan Sharp, Andrew Shelton, Bryan Uceda-Alvarez, Wesley Veal, Marissa Wideman, and the team's lead school mentor Mr. Rob Sheffield. Not pictured: Kaitlyn Chambers, Cameron Estes, Cody Morrison, Hiram Varner, and Marigordon Varner.
  • The following were recognized for the dedicated service as mentors to LDHS FRC Team 4451: Robotz Garage: David Allred, Michael Bryan, Wolfgang Buck, Marty James, David Thacker, and Scott Wheeler.
  • Members of the LDHS Chapter of Future Business Leaders of America were recognized for achievements at the FBLA State Leadership Conference. These students are now qualified to compete at the National Leadership Conference this summer. Recognized and pictured with school board trustees and the superintendent: Peyton Crowder and FBLA Advisor Ms. Angie Dover. Not pictured: Lleyton Abell, Zak Brown, Eliza Diamond, Abigail Entrekin, Anna Grace Entrekin, and Brianna Green.
  • The LDHS Academic Team was recognized for earning First Place in the State Championship in Academics held at Francis Marion University. Recognized and pictured with school board trustees and the superintendent: Wil Armstrong, Nytavious Bennett, John Bettger, Isabella Conlin, Hannah Godfrey, Benjamin O'Dell, Jordan Pitts, Jessica Putman, Ethan Sharp, Laney Stokes, and Coach Mr. Derrick O'Dell. Not pictured: Lleyton Abell and Robert John.
  • The 2019 State of the Schools Essay Winners were recognized. Pictured with school board trustees and the superintendent: Aubrey Armstrong (elementary school winner) and Lane McCracken (middle school winner). Not pictured: Devon Hubner (high school winner).